Skip to content

Chocolate Peanut Butter Fudge

December 16, 2012

DSC_0003

After reading my friend and fellow culinary nutritionist’s blog, The Healthy Apple, by Amie Valpone, I was inspired to make her Homemade Dairy-Free Holiday Fudge. Now I am not generally a fudge girl. I don’t like the overwhelming feel of sugar on my teeth when you take a bite. But, after reading Amie’s ingredient list, I knew this “fudge” was going to be a real winner. I tweaked her original recipe, swapping almond for peanut butter and whole dates for agave. It turned out beautifully and tasted great. This is an incredibly quick, decadent yet not too sweet, HFR approved dessert! Store in the fridge and eat as is or dust with cinnamon to present to your guests.

Prep time: 5 minutes | Cook time: 5 minutes | Total time: 10 minutes | Serves: 6

Ingredients

◦   1/4 cup coconut butter

◦   1/4 cup peanut butter

◦   1 small ripe banana

◦   1/4 cup cocoa powder

◦   4 dates

◦   1/4 tsp. vanilla extract

◦   1/4 tsp. cinnamon

◦   pinch sea salt

DSC_0007

Procedure

In a food processor, combine all ingredients until smooth. Be sure to scrape down the sides and bottom of the bowl to make sure everything is evenly blended. Transfer mixture to a square mold. I used a 4×4 square cutter, placed on top of a piece of parchment paper (or cellophane) and lightly greased the corners with coconut oil. With a spatula, make sure the fudge is filled into the corners and flat on top. Cover with parchment paper or cellophane and place in the freezer for 30 minutes or the fridge for one hour to firm up before slicing.

Remove from freezer, slice into 1/2 inch pieces.

Serve.

DSC_0013

DSC_0016

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 16, 2012 9:04 pm

    This looks great!!!

  2. HFR Living permalink*
    December 16, 2012 9:09 pm

    Well thanks to you Amie dear!

  3. December 17, 2012 12:01 am

    I can’t wait to try this recipe! I love fudge but have not eaten any since I went vegan almost two years ago.

  4. December 21, 2012 3:08 pm

    This looks so amazing! I can’t wait to try it out for myself. 🙂

Leave a comment