Skip to content

Food Cleanse: Eat Whole Foods Every Day

January 11, 2012

We all know how chic cleanses are these days and though I haven’t done one in several months, I love supplementing my diet with fresh, raw fruit and vegetable juices. A new highlight of shopping at Whole Foods is knowing I can find my favorite green juice from BPC and Turmeric Alive’s Coconut Nectar. Also trendy, and something I offer to my clients, is the food cleanse. What is a food cleanse you might ask? A series of meals consisting of only whole foods. Whole foods are those provided by nature with all of their edible parts in tact. The macro (protein, carbs, fats) and micro (vitamins and minerals) nutrients in these foods are naturally balanced and therefore easily digested and absorbed by our bodies. The human body is fluent in the digestion of whole foods. It however runs into problems when faced with foreign food-like substances, i.e. processed foods.

The start of a new year is a time when we feel we can start fresh. So if you are on your 11th day of incorporating whole foods into your diet, congratulations! Here are two important food thoughts to live by to keep you on track:

  • Your body is not a black hole. Food doesn’t just disappear once you swallow it down. If you don’t like the thought of a donut dispersing throughout your bloodstream, streaking your internal organs with sugar and fat, then don’t eat it! Okay that’s an extreme example, but I’m just trying to get my point across. Whole foods are untainted and “clean”, so you don’t have to think twice about how they may affect your body negatively, because they don’t.
  • Balance your day. Your body inherently seeks balance. If you’ve been good, it’s okay to splurge. Contrarily, if you’ve splurged at lunch, be more discipline at dinner. Try not to eat the same thing twice. It is so easy to toast a piece of bread or an English muffin for breakfast, but I try to eat oats or brown rice if I know that I’m going out for lunch or dinner, where bread ends up in a majority of menu items. With that said, if I want a whole-grain bagel for breakfast, I eat it, but I know that I’ve had my bread for the day, so I’ll have to get creative through dinner time. If I spread almond butter on my English muffin, I don’t eat nuts for a snack. The only exception to this rule is vegetables and sometimes fruit. You can never eat too many vegetables, especially leafy greens.

The Food Journal below is a chart that summarizes a week of eating (mostly whole foods). Now this is my personal food journal, so the things on it may seem odd to many of you. I don’t really specify quantities, because again, we are all individuals and you know how much you should or should not be eating. Some of you may require more animal protein or can’t tolerate as much grain for example. The only universal diet that works is one consisting of whole foods.

HFR Food Journal

Leave a Reply

