Skip to content

Five Days in Paris

January 1, 2012

For my 30th birthday and Christmas this year, my husband took me to Paris. A city known for it’s exquisite art and architecture, haute cuisine and romance – all of which I drank in to the very last drop. I feel as though over the past five days, I was able to check off things I have only dreamed of doing – seeing da Vinci’s Mona Lisa at the Louvre, countless works by Monet at Musée d’Orsay, the Eiffel tower illuminated by night…strolling, sipping and tasting my way through the charming streets.

As my sister said to me before I left, “You better do it right.”…referring to my phobia of sugar and flour…as you can see below, I sure did. It was a trip I will never forget.

 TUESDAY

  • Baguette with butter and tea

Lunch at Le Dali  at Le Meurice –  228 Rue de Rivoli

  • Gingered Beef Stock with Miso
  • Seasonal vegetables “en papillote”

Coffee at Les Deux Magots
Chestnuts on the Street


Dinner at Royal Madeleine – 11 Rue Chevalier de Saint Georges

  • Champagne
  • Andouille and Chestnut Croquettes (What I want to eat on my death-bed)
  • Meursault
  • Sole Meniere
  • Profiteroles

WEDNESDAY

Croissant and Cappuccino

Le Cigale Récamier – 4, rue Récamier

  • Green Salad
  • Cheese Soufflé with Truffle (elegant, decadent, yet light as air)
  • Red Wine
  • Coffee

Tea and Crepe with Walnuts and Honey in a café near the Eiffel tower

Brasserie Lipp – 151, Bld. Saint-Germain

  • Champagne
  • Celery root Roumelade
  • Cotes du Rhone
  • Escargot
  • Steak Frites
  • Haricot vert
  • Brandy

THURSDAY

Coffee and pain au chocolat

Lunch at Café St. Regis (my favorite) – Ile St. Louis

  • Onion Soup
  • Fromage
  • Beer (can’t remember what kind, but it paired perfectly with cheese and onions)
  • Croque Madame

Tea and Macaroons at LaDurée (delicate and lovely to look at, but too sweet for me (even though we did taste eight different flavors!) I’m a pâte à choux and pastry cream girl).

Dinner at Benoit – 20, Rue St. Martin

  • Champagne
  • Notre PÂTÉ EN CROÛTE, 
feuilles de laitue à l’huile de noix et chapons aillés
  • LANGUE DE VEAU LUCULLUS, cœur de romaine à la crème moutardée
  • 2006 Chateau Margaux Bordeaux
  • CASSOULET MAISON haricots blancs (Absolutely stuffed after dinner, we didn’t order dessert, but perhaps the best pastries we had were brought to our table with the check: a tiny almond madeleine and praline chocolate truffle – to die for.)

FRIDAY

Angelina (is to Paris what Sarabeth’s is to Manhattan)

  • Soft boiled eggs and baguette, coffee

Lunch at the Louvre (which turned out to be Angelina again)

  • Vegetable Soup
  • Watercress Salad
  • Croque Monsuere
  • Tea

Le Moulin de la Galette – Montmartre. 83, rue Lepic

  • Château Caronne St Gemme, Haut-Médoc 2007
  • Salade de cresson de Méréville, crottin de chèvre au miel du Gâtinais
  • Château de Pibarnon, Bandol 2004
  • Pigeon ramier (palombe) aux figues violettes et pommes de terre rattes du Touquet (I bit down on two shots/ bullets while eating my dinner…something I’m used to from eating with my dad…but how’s that for wild meat in a restaurant?!)
  • Paris-Brest (a delicious pastry of pâte à choux and chantilly cream and hazelnuts)

Champagne at le Moulin Rouge!

SATURDAY

Cappuccino

Salad, House Wine, Steak Frites and Profiteroles at le Relais de l’Entrecóte

Happy New Year and many thanks to our friends who made so many excellent recommendations and pointed us in the right direction. And most importantly, thank you Taylor, for an incredible trip that I will never forget (and I apologize, but we will be eating vegetables, beans and rice for the next two weeks).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

