Skip to content

Coconut Curry Red Lentil Dal

November 11, 2011

Here is a photo of my typical weekday meal: a bean, something green and a grain. Today’s version includes: Coconut-Curry Red Lentil Dal, Steamed Spinach and Short Grain Brown Rice. To me, this is the ideal lunch because it’s loaded with fiber, which fills you up, flavor from the curry and vitamins from the spinach. I topped the dish with some chopped scallions and dried coconut for a contrasting crunch to the overall soft consistency.

Today’s dal is actually left overs from Heidi Swanson’s Coconut Red Lentil Soup Recipe, that I made a couple of nights ago. I LOVE this recipe. I make it for myself and for clients on a regular basis. In this version, I added sweet potato in addition to the carrots, which also thickened it up to dal consistency.

Try it, you will love it. Have a great weekend!

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 14, 2011 11:43 pm

    The coconut red lentil soup was so GOOD! We had it for dinner tonight and now I can’t wait to take my lunch to work tomorrow – Hanna style!! Thank you – I love your great food ideas!!!

Leave a Reply

