Skip to content

My New Favorite Yogurt

September 20, 2011

Hi everybody! I’m sorry for the delay between posts. Although I have another entry in the works, I couldn’t help but share a new favorite product with you. Just back from a trip to Fairway on the UES, I bought a new flavor of Siggi’s yogurt: coconut. In the past, I’ve tried the vanilla and blueberry, both of which I loved, and the grapefruit, which I didn’t care for (I don’t like the combination of citrus with dairy, it makes my stomach turn). I like these yogurts because they are made with milk from grass-fed cows, are high in protein and low in sugar (sweetened with agave) and don’t have any added junk. I should stop calling this product yogurt, because it is actually called skyr.

Skyr is the traditional yogurt of Iceland. It is made by incubating skim milk with live active cultures. The whey, the water naturally found in milk, is then strained away to make for a much thicker, creamier, concentrated yogurt. So to make just one cup of skyr, with all that water going out, you need 3 – 4 times the amount of milk required to make a regular cup of yogurt. As a result of this process skyr comes out with 2-3 times the protein count of standard yogurt.

Skyr is incredibly thick and can feel a bit chalky in your mouth if just eaten plain with a spoon. I like to spread it on a toasted slice of sprouted bread or english muffin and top with slices of fresh fruit. Okay enough background information…the coconut flavor is a new exception. It has the perfect consistency and flavor. It is slightly higher in fat, because coconuts contain saturated fat, but if you are going to eat fat, this is the type to splurge on: coconut oil is the easiest fat for our bodies to digest. It contains lauric acid, which is also found in breast milk. Coconut oil is cooling and soothing to the body. It is antibacterial, antiviral and antifungal. Coconut oil improves digestion and nutrient absorption, supplies fewer calories than other fats, supports immune system function, helps prevent premature aging and wrinkling of the skin…shall I go on? This stuff is a miracle food!

So the next time you are looking for a great breakfast, snack or dessert try Siggi’s coconut skyr and let me know what you think!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2011 9:18 pm

    I love skyr! I became addicted to it after a trip to Iceland several years ago.

  2. Jill permalink
    September 24, 2011 7:46 pm

    Hanna, I bought this after reading your blog! Thank you, it’s great!

  3. October 10, 2011 9:14 am

    Major thanks for the article post. Will read on…

Leave a Reply

