Skip to content

The Shakeup Over Skinnygirl

September 6, 2011

I love Bethenny. I’ve watched her series and read her book. We are both natural food chefs in New York City and trained at the same culinary school. We both like “big” talk over cocktails (particularly margaritas) and eating out. Bethenny is a businesswoman and a brand. Her creation and sale of Skinnygirl earned her millions. It’s hard not to find Skinnygirl bottles on liquor store shelves these days.

However, after discovering that the Skinnygirl margarita mix contains a preservative called sodium benzoate, Whole Foods has decided to stop selling it, claiming it does not meet their quality standards. Frankel’s response, both witty and realistic, stays true to her character.

I’m not making wheatgrass here. If I could put an agave plant and some limes on a shelf I would. [The Skinnygirl Margarita] is as close to nature as possible, while still being a shelf-stable product.

Skinnygirl Margarita meets the highest quality standards. I wouldn’t sell anything that I don’t drink myself.

Skinnygirl is made with natural ingredients. The margarita product formulation includes a miniscule amount of a widely used FDA-approved ingredient that protects quality and is found on virtually every aisle of the supermarket in popular brands of beverages, food and everyday items.

So there you have it people. It is virtually impossible to buy a product off the shelf that doesn’t contain some form of a preservative, whether it’s derived from natural ingredients or not. If you want fresh and natural you have to do it yourself. Bethenny’s Skinnygirl cocktails taste good and require no effort, but let’s not forget she created these products to make a profit, not a healthier nation. No consumer wants to feel mislead or be taken advantage of, but can we really give her grief for this? I am super excited for season 3 of Bethenny Ever After, will continue buying and reading her books, but I can’t bring myself to purchase anything from her Skinnygirl product line.

Here’s how Bethenny and I make our margaritas from scratch:

2 ounces clear tequila (you want to use high quality tequila, because in this version you aren’t diluting it with sugary mix. I like Patron or Cabo Wabo best).

Large splash of fresh lime juice (approximately half of one lime).

Tiny splash of orange or citrus liqueur (Cointreau or Triple Sec).

Optional splash of club soda

Combine all ingredients (minus the club soda) over a glass of ice or in a shaker and stir/ shake.


One Comment leave one →
  1. Mark permalink
    September 6, 2011 10:17 pm

    I am forwarding this to my mother-in-law. She and my F-I-L are big fans of the ease, convenience and taste of the skinnygirl margarita. I for one haven’t had one as I prefer my Tequila without all that other nonsense getting in the way.

Leave a Reply

