Skip to content

Make The Most Of Your Small Kitchen

August 18, 2011

New York City rental apartments don’t usually boast the biggest or best kitchens; so we have to make due with what we have. Although I don’t have the aesthetic appeal of granite counter tops or stainless steel appliances; my kitchen can actually fit more than one person at a time, I have a gas stove, a dishwasher and generous counter space; making it somewhat desirable if you can believe it. This post was inspired by my friend EAS, who is forever thoughtful, generous and encouraging. Let me take you on a brief tour and show you how to make the most of your small kitchen space.

1) Designate a workspace

Main Workspace: My cookbooks are right in front of me for inspiration. They also add color without taking up too much space. Stacked to their right are a couple small cutting boards and my knives. To the left are staple ingredients: garlic, Kosher salt, pepper and olive oil. This is where I do all my prep work.

2) Keep essential cooking tools close at hand

In the cabinet just above my workspace are spices, oils and vinegars right at eye level.

3) When in doubt, look up and utilize high spaces for storage

Hanging pots and pans is a great way to utilize space. I also have storage containers on top of the cabinet to the right. I keep my favorite cleaning products out and on the counter. My terrarium brings life and color to the room.

Take advantage of dead space. Here, I hung spoons and spatulas with a bare nails and hooks. I have two containers to hold utensils: one for metal and the other for wood and plastic.

Because this counter is shallow, I designate it for storage as opposed to a workspace.

4) Stay organized: make labels

This cabinet, below the counter shown above, is my pantry. Though there is very little room (if any!) to spare, everything has its own place, designated with labels.

Wrap Up:

1) Designate a workspace: find your largest countertop and make it your goal to keep it clutter free. This is where you will prep your meals. “Build out” from this space.

2) Keep essential cooking tools close at hand: particularly knives and cutting boards. You also want your spices, oils and vinegars in the vicinity of this area.

3) When in doubt, look up and utilize high spaces for storage. If available, a great place to showcase and store large bowls and serving platters is on top of your cupboards. Hanging pots and pans can clear up an incredible amount of space.

4) Stay organized: make labels. I use masking tape because it rips right off without leaving a sticky residue.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 18, 2011 11:44 pm

    #5! Always have an adorable Frenchie at your foot to keep the floor clean of drips and spills!
    Great organization! Wonderful kitchen!

Leave a Reply

