Skip to content

Too Much

August 16, 2011

I have a tendency to lose myself in all the love, family and fun of weddings. My cousin married his beautiful bride this past weekend, under a magnificently tented field, behind the bride’s Vermont home. Over the course of the weekend, I ate and drank too much. The food was fantastic, but it was different from what I usually consume during the week when I’m at home. I don’t think I ate a single whole grain and meat was the focus of each dish. Because we were in VT, maple syrup was a must and who is going to turn down wedding cake?! And perhaps the worst culprit of all was the alcohol: cocktails, wine with dinner and champagne toasts…did I mention I had a fabulous time?! Come Sunday afternoon though, my body had had enough. It was my own darn fault for overindulging, but thankfully I had the perfect cure in mind and would be back on my feet in no time. I needed sleep, cleansing and nourishing foods and exercise. So here’s how I started off the week:

Sunday Night Dinner

Steamed dark greens with a layered casserole of millet, black beans and sweet potato

Lots of water

Early to bed

*Notice no flour, sugar, animal protein or alcohol…all the things I overindulged in.

Monday Breakfast: whole grain cereal with fruit

1/3 cup muesli

1/3 cup soymilk

1-2 tablespoons flaxseed meal

1-2 tablespoons wheat germ

1/3 cup blueberries

½ of one peach, cut

1 small soy latte with cinnamon

A Note on Soymilk: I drink plain, unsweetened soy milk made by West Soy because it is the only brand who’s ingredients read just: filtered water and whole organic soy beans. You have to be careful when it comes to drinking non-dairy milk alternatives. Although they can taste great, they are often filled with sugars and stabilizers. Regular organic milk is of course an option!

Monday Lunch: salad

1 cup arugula, packed

½ of one peach, cut

2 tablespoons Marcona almonds

6 pickled green beans

1 tablespoon lemon juice

1.5 tablespoons olive oil

sea salt and black pepper to taste

 

Monday Dinner: rice and vegetables

Brown rice

Cauliflower, blanched and shocked

Sugar snap peas, blanched and shocked

Bean sprouts

Red cabbage, sliced paper thin (on a mandolin)

Tofu, cubed and baked

Green curry sauce (1 can organic unsweetened coconut milk, approx. 3 tablespoons green curry paste, 1 tablespoon fish sauce, 1 teaspoon jagery)

Assembly: Pile the veggies high on top of a bed of rice and poor a good amount of green curry sauce over the top. My husband and I finished the sauce, but have tons of veggies, rice and tofu left over. All I have to do for dinner tonight is make a new sauce.

Just a handfull of the cousins having fun. There were Ben & Jerry's Ice Cream bars to go along with the wedding cake.

*Before dinnertime I did 30 minutes of cardio, a long stretch out and took a steam to really sweat everything out of my system. After a full day of eating well (no dairy, meat or alcohol) and drinking lots of water, I felt back on track after a weekend of overindulging. My food and booze hangover is gone and I’m left with fun memories and pictures to prove it!

Tuesday Breakfast: whole grain with fruit

1/3 cup brown rice (left over from the night before)

1/3 cup soymilk

1-2 tablespoons flaxseed meal

1-2 tablespoons wheat germ

1/3 cup blueberries

1 fresh apricot, cut up

1 small soy latte with cinnamon

Brown Rice Breakfast Bowl


2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 29, 2011 11:44 pm

    LOL, Are you critical?

  2. September 1, 2011 11:45 pm

    Wonderful ideas

Leave a Reply

