Skip to content

Making Dinner…Last

July 19, 2011

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

People often ask me if I cook for my husband and myself when I get home from work, and the answer is yes (for the majority of the week). The question that typically follows is, “what do you make?” Well…let me know show you.

My Thought Process:

I knew we had grits in the cupboard (that I’ve wanted to make for a while now), so I put them in a pressure cooker with water and a pinch of sea salt for 20 minutes. Next, I eyed a package of cherry tomatoes on the counter. I halved them, drizzled with olive oil, sprinkled with sea salt, black pepper and Italian seasonings, placed them on a parchment lined baking sheet and put them in the toaster oven at 425 degrees. At this point I had my starch and one vegetable, but I needed something green. I realize I do have the luxury of a market across the street, so while things were heating up in my kitchen, I ran over to Citarella and bought eggs and broccoli raab (protein and green, check!)

When my grits were done, they looked plain and in need of love, so I spread them in a small baking dish and topped them with the roasted cherry tomatoes, finely grated Parmesan cheese and put them back in the toaster oven for about 10 minutes to brown.  This one extra step transformed my grits from boring to beautiful.

I then sautéed my broccoli raab in olive oil with a sliced clove of fresh garlic.

To plate, I first put down the broccoli raab, then placed a sliced square of my grit “cake”, garnished with fresh parsley and chives and topped it off with two fried eggs. In the end we enjoyed a hearty meal, low in fat and high in vitamins.

Today I still had grits left over, so I quickly sautéed arugula with garlic, spooned on a few tablespoons of jarred tomatoes sauce, drizzled with balsamic and voila, lunch!

left overs for lunch today, over arugula

 

Update (7.20.11) I had my last slice of grit cake for dinner tonight. This time I briefly blanched Dino kale, spooned a few tablespoons of Rao’s marinara sauce and whipped up some black-eyed peas (to which I added toasted pine nuts, garlic and olive oil), and topped with shaved Pecorino Romano cheese. To tell you the truth, the third rendition that I ate tonight was my favorite.

day three dinner: over dino kale, with garlic-pine nut black eyed peas

One Comment leave one →
  1. LeeLee permalink
    July 20, 2011 4:39 pm

    Yum! This looks amazing for lunch and dinner. I will definitely be trying this myself…probably calling you for some help! x

Leave a Reply

