Skip to content

Purume

August 3, 2010

I made these vegetable nori rolls, but you can expect something similar at Purume.

After shopping at the Greenmarket in Union Square, I wanted to check out Souen for lunch takeout, a Macrobiotic restaurant that I’ve heard great things about. Unfortunately, I found it under scaffolding and closed for renovations. Right across the street however was Purume, an “Organic and Local Kitchen,” that from the description alone sounded right up my alley.

I was greeted by the owner Jay, who welcomed me in to have a seat and a glass of water at the bar. I told him I was a first timer and he recommended their Fish Combo Lunch Special. Yesterday the choices were salmon or sea bass (from the same vendor that I frequent at the Greenmarket), broiled with lemon and a choice of two vegetables and a grain. I paired my sea bass with greens, daikon and the Purume Roll (inside-out roll with avocado, carrot, cucumber and daikon sprouts).

There was a bit of miscommunication between Jay and the wait staff, so I sat at the bar for longer than I would have liked. But all in all, I was pumped when the food came out and the bill was only $10.00. Overloaded with my Greenmarket purchases and now an additional bag filled with takeout, I decided to have a seat on a park bench and enjoy my lunch in the sun before heading back to the UES on the subway. After finding the perfect spot, setting down all of my bags and pulling out my takeout container, there were no utensils to be found…so it was back on my feet and to the subway I went…annoyed and hungry.

Finally back at my apartment, the meal was simple, light and tasty. I’m interested in going back for a sit down dinner to further explore their menu items.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Nella Pasta permalink
    August 21, 2010 10:53 am

    These look beautiful! Nice work, Han!

Leave a Reply

